top of page
Boys & Girls Clubs of Delaware Leadership Building

Organizational Leadership

Dedicated and Visionary Leadership

Our leadership on the senior team, the corporate board of directors, the board of trustees and unit boards is what makes us so successful.  The Senior Leadership Team, led by President and CEO, John Wellons, is a group of talented individuals who bring vision and expertise to the organization, with a relentless eye for what is best for the young people we serve. Our Corporate Board of Directors, led by Chairman Michael Hare, helps to shape the vision and strategic direction of the organization, while ensuring that we are good stewards of our finances. This group is a great representation of industry leaders throughout the state of Delaware who share a passion for helping kids. The Board of Trustees, led by Matt Beardwood, 80% of whom serve on either a Unit Board or a BGCDE committee, are capable individuals who are willing to “roll up their sleeves” to get the work done, tirelessly supporting our staff and kids. The Unit Boards, at 100 members strong support the 14 Clubs throughout the state and are professionals and business men and women who resided within the community surrounding their Club. They are our boots on the ground and ambassadors at a local level.

Senior Leadership Team


Board of Directors

James Collins

James Collins 

State of Delaware

Nicole Silicato Miller

Nicole Silicato-Miller

Silicato Development, Revenue Committee

Black and blue veritcal_edited.png

Elaine Bittner


Steve Larrabee

Steve Larrabee

DuPont, Chair, Program Committee

Nick Hammonds

Nick Hammonds

Jack Lingo Asset Management

Tira L Johnson

Tira L. Johnson 

M&T Bank Vice Chair, Operations

Black and blue veritcal_edited.png

Jeff Mitchell

Jane Crowe

Jane Crowe

Citi, Marketing Committee

Amanda Wynne

Amanda Wynne


Robert Carpenter

Robert Carpenter IV

Hockessin Athletic Club Vice Chair, Property Committee

Mike Hare

Mike Hare, Chairman

Buccini/Pollin Group Chairman, Board of Directors

Laverne T Harmon

LaVerne T. Harmon

Wilmington University

Michael Kullman

Michael Kullman

Committees: Marketing, Board Development, Revenue

Stuart Sharkey

Stuart J. Sharkey

University of Delaware (Retired) Committees: Executive, Capital Campaign, Board Development,      Past Board Chair (2006-2010)

Michael C Smith

Michael C. Smith


Committee: Human Resources


Matthew Trerotola


Committees: Revenue, Strategic Task Teams

Jeffrey Starkey

Jeffrey Starkey

City of Wilmington Committees: Property

Marichu Valencia

Marichu Valencia

Retired Vice Chair - Revenue

Jennifer Denham

Jennifer Denham

Program Committee

Donna Barrett

Donna Barrett

JP Morgan Chase Committee: Vice Chair – Revenue, Executive, Revenue Development

Rick Deadwyler

Rick Deadwyler

Corteva Agriscience (DuPont Agriculture) Secretary

Markevis Gideon.png

Markevis Gideon

President, 100 Black Men United Delaware

Phil Hough

Phil Hough

WSFS, Treasurer, Vice Chair.                – Finance

Lewis H Lazarus

Lewis H. Lazarus

Morris James Committee: VC-Operations, Executive, Capital Campaign

Marisa Slaten

Marisa Slaten

Pepco Holdings Inc., an Exelon Company

F L Peter Stone

F.L. Peter Stone

Attorney –at- Law Committees: Executive, Property, Capital Campaign, Teen TF


Virginia L. Appleby

Krista Bacchieri
Jeffery Beard
Matt Beardwood
Patricia K. Beuchler

Scott Brown
William J. Brown
Patrick J. Callihan

Lucille Cavan
Dana S. Chapman, Ed. D.
Dr. Eric Cheek
Jennifer Cohan
Cindy Crompton-Barone
Michael J. DiLeo
Carol J. Dulin, Esq
Marisa A. Facciolo
K. Cole Flickinger

Ronald Goldston

Norman C. Griffiths
Dr. Scott A. Hammer
Jonathan R. Hickey
Victor R. Kalman
Erik L. Kaufmann
Anne Michele Kuhns
Gregory A. Lane
Lisa Lessner

Carrie Lingo
Charles Lockwood
Marie G. Marx
Diana Maxmin
Edward L. Mayfield, Jr.
Cameron B. McDonald
Michael R. Miller
Jeffrey W. Mitchell, Jr.

Kenneth Moses
K. Tyler O’Connell, Esq.
Michael G. Owen
Joseph J. Purzycki
Randy Redcay
Joni Reich
Robert W. Rescigno, Ed. D.
Nicole Romano
William R. Russell, III
Kathleen Schell
Bryan W. Shupe
Leanne Silicato-Prosser
Nikkia Squires
Christopher S. Sullivan
Dave Tiberi
Nicholas Vacirca
Patricia Vincent

bottom of page