top of page


Boys & Girls Clubs of Delaware announced their 2019 Youth of the Year Judges. Judges reflect the same high morals and character qualities demanded of Club members. They mirror the diversity of Club participants, in regards to cultural and ethnic make-up, as well as various backgrounds and career paths. Additionally their participation demonstrates to Club youth that our volunteers are strongly committed to their development as caring and productive citizens.

Duties and Responsibilities of the Judges:

  • Thoroughly review and score the Youth of the Year Application via the online judging portal prior to the Youth of the Year event, making notations about questions you’d like to ask nominees

  • Interview all nominees to verify and clarify the content of their application materials

  • Evaluate each candidate on poise and public speaking during the interview process and during public speaking opportunities

  • Develop a well-rounded assessment of each candidate prior to meeting as a group to make the final selection

  • Select, as a group, the most qualified finalist to serve as a role model and spokesperson for Delaware

Dr. Eric A. Cheek


Member, Boys & Girls Clubs of Delaware Program Committee

Alisha Bryson

Vice President

Gregg M. Schmidt

Head of External Communications

Nathan Disbro

General Manager

Marisa Slaten

Director, Regulatory Strategy & Services

Eric Cline


Executive Director

Office of Early Learning

Delaware Department of Education

The judges will join the 6 Finalists on April 5-6, at the Boardwalk Plaza Hotel in Rehoboth Beach to meet with the Finalists. The winner will be announced at the Youth of the Year, Thursday, April 11, at The Queen in Wilmington. To purchase your tickets CLICK HERE or visit

For tickets or more information about the Youth of the Year program contact Cheryl Rice.

Recent Posts

21st Century Grant Intent

The Dagsboro Boys & Girls Club and Georgetown Boys & Girls Club in partnership with Indian River School District intend to submit an application to the Delaware State Department of Education for a 21s


bottom of page